Website Manager

Nor-Gwyn Baseball and Softball

Ben Hostelley Memorial Scholarship

Ben Hostelley Memorial Scholarship



The scholarship program, endowed by the late Nor-Gwyn President and founder, is presented each year to a current or former Nor-Gwyn baseball or softball player who has displayed exemplary sportsmanship and an outstanding commitment to community service. The scholarship is administered by a 3-member panel of trustees that is independent of the Nor-Gwyn organization.

Gerald (Ben) Hostelley was one of five founders of the former Upper Gwynedd-North Wales Baseball Association in the early 1970s, which later became Nor-Gwyn Baseball and Softball. Ben was Nor-Gwyn’s first President and served in this capacity until his death in 1997. In the words of one former player, “Ben was a teacher, a mentor, and most of all, a friend. He had a knack for spotting players that needed a little extra attention, such as a player from a fatherless home, or one who has a sick parent or a parent that could not spend much time with their child. He was intensely interested in following the lives and careers of his players. It is perfectly fitting that he would establish a scholarship for players.”

Selection Criteria:

  • Applicants must have played baseball or softball in Nor-Gwyn for at least four years, with at least two of those years being at or after the age of 14.
  • Applicants must be age 21 or less on the application deadline to be eligible. 
  • Applicants must attend an accredited school of higher education in the Fall of the year of application.  The scholarship will be paid directly to the winner’s school.
  • Scholarship awards are for one year only. Past winners of scholarships must reapply to be considered for another scholarship. Scholarships may be awarded to the same person no more than two consecutive years, and no more than four scholarships may be awarded to any one person.
  • Any person to whom a scholarship is awarded must agree to allow his/her photograph and accompanying article to appear in newspapers of general circulation.

Application Process:

Applications are submitted in the 2Q of each year. More information about the program and an application can be requested by writing to: 

Ben Hostelley Memorial Scholarship

P.O. Box 65

Warminster, PA 18974.



Year of Award Recipient College Attended
2000 Christopher Couch Pennsylvania State University
2001 John Rieg

Duquesne University
2002 Michael Janke

Pennsylvania State University
2003 Megan Wahl

Villanova University
2004 Kristen Slemmer Indiana University of Pennsylvania
2005 Courtney Bush Drexel University
2006 Patrick Rider Gwynedd Mercy College
2007 Katelyn Mathe Indiana University of Pennsylvania
2008 Kerry Roman Pennsylvania State University
2009 Ryan Moran East Stroudsburg University
2010 Zachary Sevcik Pennsylvania State University
2011 Colleen Bancroft Montgomery County Community College
2012 Krysten Lloyd Pennsylvania State University
2013 Jack McGee Saint Joseph's University
2014 Christopher Kersey Lehigh University
Tucker Burg
Washington & Jefferson College
 2016Anthony Cameron
Elizabethtown College
 2017Morgan Murphy
University of Pittsburgh
 2018Julia Sardaro
Thomas Jefferson University
Aiden Sullivan
St. Joseph's University
 2020Dominic CicconeMontgomery County Community College